Search thousands of topics on CostHelper.com

BROWSE ALL TOPICS >> appliances babies & children  cars  consumer electronics health & personal care home & garden personal finance  pets  schools small business weddings
CostHelper > Home and Garden  > Construction & Renovation > Mold Inspection

Mold Inspection Cost


How Much Does Mold Inspection Cost?

 
low costDo-It-Yourself: $5-$100average costLab: $30-$150 per samplehigh costInspector: $200-$600+
post E-mail post Post   Comments (7)

Molds are fungi that can be found both indoors and outdoors, all year round. Although some forms of mold are extremely dangerous or even toxic, most molds are relatively harmless. However, large concentrations of indoor mold can cause odors, health problems[1] and, in some cases, structural damage to wood. An inspection and testing will determine how much mold is present in a home, and where.

Typical costs:

  • Do-it-yourself mold test kits[2] are available online or at home improvement stores for $5-$100. With a kit, you take a sample, place it in growth medium (like a petri dish) and wait 48 hours to see if mold grows. However, to learn exactly what types of mold are present you have to mail the kit to a lab, which adds shipping costs plus testing fees of $30-$150 per sample, depending on the level of identification and the type of report and consultation provided.
  • A professional mold inspection of a typical family home runs $200-$600, although larger homes (5,000-10,000 square feet or more) can be $600-$900 and up. In extreme cases, the inspector may cut open the walls for what's known as an invasive inspection. The total additional cost will depend on the extent of the hidden mold and how much work is required to discover it.
Related articles: Mold Remediation, Lead Paint Abatement, Asbestos Removal

What should be included:
  • Several different types of mold (also called mildew) are almost always present both indoors and out; they usually are benign and only grow large colonies where there's moisture. Because do-it-yourself test kits can become contaminated before use, ConsumerReports.org does NOT recommend the kits it evaluated. And it's usually not necessary to identify the type of mold[3] growing in your home, according to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC); just remove the mold without testing it.
  • Some companies offer both mold inspection and remediation, but most experts recommend using different contractors for these services. A full mold inspection of a typical home takes about 2-5 hours. The inspector will visually evaluate the structure, both
Additional costs:
  • There can be fees for additional paperwork for an insurance claim or other circumstances; if you need specific documentation, be sure to ask if it's included in the quote.
Shopping for mold inspection:
  • There are a number of organizations offering mold "certification" -- some require only a fee or an online course to qualify as a certified expert. Check to be sure that your inspector is certified by a group requiring training, experience and testing. Referrals are available from the American Council for Accredited Certification.
post E-mail post Post   Comments (7)
CostHelper News


Forgotten Expenses In a Home Addition Budget
Items like construction costs, permit fees or debris removal aren't the only expenses to consider when calculating the total costs of a home remodeling project. || Posted August 5 2013


8 Ways to Stretch Your Reduced Food Budget
End of the year budgets are tight for everyone, especially in this economy.It's especially hard for the millions of Americans who depend on government programs like food stamps to help make ends meet. || Posted November 11 2013

‣ All CostHelper Blog Posts


What People Are Paying - Recent Comments
mold tests costs
Amount: $500.00
Posted by: a user in Lee center, NY.Posted: September 3rd, 2014 07:09AM
Type of Test:: whole house
I used a company local to my area and was charged for testing two areas of my home which is about 1600 sq ft. I asked for the whole house to be tested but was told that it would be cheaper just to test the two areas because if it was in the house it was in the whole house. Was informed of excessive amounts of mold in my brand new 2013 home never lived in before order just for us. Currently going through a claim through my contractors insurance company and am hoping they just pay me and don't have to sue them for millions more than I'm asking for but hard headed insurance companies never learn so we'll see.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold inspection
Amount: $175.00
Posted by: Alan Prescod in Morristown, NJ.Posted: August 18th, 2014 05:08PM
Type of Test:: Air Sample
I had a feeling that mold was growing in my house but had no proof . There was this smell that I described to a friend, she told me it sounded consistent with her experience of having mold in her basement. She referred me to a company named Eradicator Mold Remediation Services in our state of New Jersey. I gave them a call, scheduled an inspection, the cost was $175.00 The experience was professional and rewarding as the results that I received a few days later from the tests was conclusive of my fears. Best money spent.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Inspection
Amount: $150.00
Posted by: Austen in Salt Lake, UT.Posted: April 15th, 2014 07:04PM
Type of Test:: Mold Inspection
I refer my clients a compnay that does a thorough physical inspection for mold, and the cost is usually around $150. They are very thorough and very good. They also offer testing, but most of my clients learn far more from the inspection than they could from test results with no waiting for the results and at a fraction of what testing could cost. Great service: www.biocleanofutah.com
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Cost Table
Amount: $2,500.00
Posted by: Jeff Cohn in Philadelphia, PA.Posted: September 30th, 2013 06:09AM
Type of Test:: Mold Remediation
I'm a realtor in PA. A client of mine had mold in their basement which measured about 806 square feet. Some remediation companies wanted to charge between $4000 and $6000 for remediation. I used this mold cost table to determine what a fair price could be then found a company to do it for $2500. http://www.si-restoration.com/mold-remediation-cost/
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Inspection
Amount: $475.00
Posted by: intermarketer in Bronx, NY.Posted: June 10th, 2011 10:06AM
Type of Test:: mold
I used a company called microecologies. I got great service, a detailed report of findings and an overall good experience.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Testing
Amount: $460.00
Posted by: Irina in Cleveland, OH.Posted: August 18th, 2010 03:08PM
Type of Test:: mold and moisture
My husband found a company here in Cleveland, Ohio called Mold Masters. We used them to evaluate a property that we were purchasing. They did a good job and provided us with a complete report. The pricing was fair and they had a lot of construction experience background to be able to determine the cause of the mold and corrections. We would recommend them, they can be found at www.moldmastersystems.net. It was the best $460.00 we ever spent.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Test Costs
Amount: $345.00
Posted by: danielson in Bakersfield, CA.Posted: April 20th, 2010 05:04PM
Type of Test:: Full Testing
I used a company called Asela Cleanup and Restoration, they are certified mold inspectors and they charged me $345 for the test results from the lab and a full report with an analysis. They helped me understand the results because the lab is really confusing. I found that testing can range from $300 to $1200 depending on who you use - I called around. I was told though that there are a lot of people who do testing without certification, so be careful. If you need someone, www.aselainc.com - they are in California.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam


 

Comment On Your Experience With Mold Inspection
 
Subject:  *
Amount Spent:  *
Type of Test::   
Comments: 
Purchased:  Year: 
City:  * State:  *
 
Information about you:
Email:  * Email addresses are not displayed.
Name:  This is the name we'll display with your post.
me on this computer
*=required field.
 



External Resources:
  1.  www.cdc.gov/mold/iom_sum.htm
  2.  www.google.com/search?tbm=shop&q=mold+test+kit
  3.  www.cdc.gov/mold/
More Home and Garden Topics
Check Out All Costs for Home and Garden How Much Does a Deck Cost? How Much Does Replacing a Water Heater Cost? How Much Do Replacement Windows Cost?

Search Thousands of Topics on CostHelper.com



Today's Featured Cost Articles

About CostHelper
CostHelper is based in Silicon Valley and provides consumers with unbiased price information about thousands of goods and services. Our writers are experienced journalists who adhere to our strict editorial ethics policy.

CostHelper Community
X-RAY HIP UNI 2+ VW
Paid: 493.00
New patient office visit $93Took 2 xrays of my hip $493Insurance company noted Charge Exceeds Defined Pay amount on the Xray. Ins Co. noted Charge Exceeds the contractual allowance per the contract. Ins. Co... [more]
-Living is costing me to Death
X-Ray Cost
Front struts for 06 Acura MDX
Paid: 325.00
Dealer quoted $1500 for all 4 struts/shocks ($750 Front; $650 Rear). Shopped it around and found they were way over priced! Used Monroe OESpectrum on fronts (excellent) and rear didn't need to replaced..... [more]
-Foolmeonce
Car Shock Absorbers Cost
Trane 3Ton 13SEER XR13
Paid: 4217.00
Upgraded my 10yr old Goodman A/C unit for a Trane. AS Heating & Cooling were great to work with and had the better pricing and financing between the 3 certified Trane installers for the area. Great team and quick to work... [more]
-Chris87
Central Air Conditioner Cost
Annual cost Houston TX
Paid: 169.00
Our home is 3100 sf. We had termites 15 years ago they were treated and are now on annual inspection plan with same company for over 15 years. The inspection is limited to a visual walk around only... [more]
-Richard Markel
Termite Control Cost
what deck's cost
Paid: 1600.00
I can build an 8 by 8 deck with two sets of stairs for 25 a square foot usually you just need to go see how much a box of screws cost and 1 2x12x16 then tell me I'm to high and remember you don't pay cheap for a good doctor lawyer hair sty... [more]
-Tim the trim carpenter
Deck Cost
TIMING BELT
Paid: 395.62
Replaced Timing belt, Alternator belt, Power Steering belt, Crank Shaft Seal and Cam Shaft Seal... [more]
-REYNOSO
Replacing a Timing Belt Cost