Search thousands of topics on CostHelper.com

BROWSE ALL TOPICS >> appliances babies & children  cars  consumer electronics health & personal care home & garden personal finance  pets  schools small business weddings
CostHelper > Home and Garden  > Construction & Renovation > Mold Inspection

Mold Inspection Cost


How Much Does Mold Inspection Cost?

 
low costDo-It-Yourself: $5-$100average costLab: $30-$150 per samplehigh costInspector: $200-$600+
post E-mail post Post   Comments (7)

Molds are fungi that can be found both indoors and outdoors, all year round. Although some forms of mold are extremely dangerous or even toxic, most molds are relatively harmless. However, large concentrations of indoor mold can cause odors, health problems[1] and, in some cases, structural damage to wood. An inspection and testing will determine how much mold is present in a home, and where.

Typical costs:

  • Do-it-yourself mold test kits[2] are available online or at home improvement stores for $5-$100. With a kit, you take a sample, place it in growth medium (like a petri dish) and wait 48 hours to see if mold grows. However, to learn exactly what types of mold are present you have to mail the kit to a lab, which adds shipping costs plus testing fees of $30-$150 per sample, depending on the level of identification and the type of report and consultation provided.
  • A professional mold inspection of a typical family home runs $200-$600, although larger homes (5,000-10,000 square feet or more) can be $600-$900 and up. In extreme cases, the inspector may cut open the walls for what's known as an invasive inspection. The total additional cost will depend on the extent of the hidden mold and how much work is required to discover it.
Related articles: Mold Remediation, Lead Paint Abatement, Asbestos Removal

What should be included:
  • Several different types of mold (also called mildew) are almost always present both indoors and out; they usually are benign and only grow large colonies where there's moisture. Because do-it-yourself test kits can become contaminated before use, ConsumerReports.org does NOT recommend the kits it evaluated. And it's usually not necessary to identify the type of mold[3] growing in your home, according to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC); just remove the mold without testing it.
  • Some companies offer both mold inspection and remediation, but most experts recommend using different contractors for these services. A full mold inspection of a typical home takes about 2-5 hours. The inspector will visually evaluate the structure, both
Additional costs:
  • There can be fees for additional paperwork for an insurance claim or other circumstances; if you need specific documentation, be sure to ask if it's included in the quote.
Shopping for mold inspection:
  • There are a number of organizations offering mold "certification" -- some require only a fee or an online course to qualify as a certified expert. Check to be sure that your inspector is certified by a group requiring training, experience and testing. Referrals are available from the American Council for Accredited Certification.
post E-mail post Post   Comments (7)
CostHelper News


Forgotten Expenses In a Home Addition Budget
Items like construction costs, permit fees or debris removal aren't the only expenses to consider when calculating the total costs of a home remodeling project. || Posted August 5 2013


7 Ways to Stretch Your Reduced Food Budget
End of the year budgets are tight for everyone, especially in this economy.It's especially hard for the millions of Americans who depend on government programs like food stamps to help make ends meet. || Posted November 11 2013

‣ All CostHelper Blog Posts


What People Are Paying - Recent Comments
mold tests costs
Amount: $500.00
Posted by: a user in Lee center, NY.Posted: September 3rd, 2014 07:09AM
Type of Test:: whole house
I used a company local to my area and was charged for testing two areas of my home which is about 1600 sq ft. I asked for the whole house to be tested but was told that it would be cheaper just to test the two areas because if it was in the house it was in the whole house. Was informed of excessive amounts of mold in my brand new 2013 home never lived in before order just for us. Currently going through a claim through my contractors insurance company and am hoping they just pay me and don't have to sue them for millions more than I'm asking for but hard headed insurance companies never learn so we'll see.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold inspection
Amount: $175.00
Posted by: Alan Prescod in Morristown, NJ.Posted: August 18th, 2014 05:08PM
Type of Test:: Air Sample
I had a feeling that mold was growing in my house but had no proof . There was this smell that I described to a friend, she told me it sounded consistent with her experience of having mold in her basement. She referred me to a company named Eradicator Mold Remediation Services in our state of New Jersey. I gave them a call, scheduled an inspection, the cost was $175.00 The experience was professional and rewarding as the results that I received a few days later from the tests was conclusive of my fears. Best money spent.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Inspection
Amount: $150.00
Posted by: Austen in Salt Lake, UT.Posted: April 15th, 2014 07:04PM
Type of Test:: Mold Inspection
I refer my clients a compnay that does a thorough physical inspection for mold, and the cost is usually around $150. They are very thorough and very good. They also offer testing, but most of my clients learn far more from the inspection than they could from test results with no waiting for the results and at a fraction of what testing could cost. Great service: www.biocleanofutah.com
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Cost Table
Amount: $2,500.00
Posted by: Jeff Cohn in Philadelphia, PA.Posted: September 30th, 2013 06:09AM
Type of Test:: Mold Remediation
I'm a realtor in PA. A client of mine had mold in their basement which measured about 806 square feet. Some remediation companies wanted to charge between $4000 and $6000 for remediation. I used this mold cost table to determine what a fair price could be then found a company to do it for $2500. http://www.si-restoration.com/mold-remediation-cost/
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Inspection
Amount: $475.00
Posted by: intermarketer in Bronx, NY.Posted: June 10th, 2011 10:06AM
Type of Test:: mold
I used a company called microecologies. I got great service, a detailed report of findings and an overall good experience.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Testing
Amount: $460.00
Posted by: Irina in Cleveland, OH.Posted: August 18th, 2010 03:08PM
Type of Test:: mold and moisture
My husband found a company here in Cleveland, Ohio called Mold Masters. We used them to evaluate a property that we were purchasing. They did a good job and provided us with a complete report. The pricing was fair and they had a lot of construction experience background to be able to determine the cause of the mold and corrections. We would recommend them, they can be found at www.moldmastersystems.net. It was the best $460.00 we ever spent.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Mold Test Costs
Amount: $345.00
Posted by: danielson in Bakersfield, CA.Posted: April 20th, 2010 05:04PM
Type of Test:: Full Testing
I used a company called Asela Cleanup and Restoration, they are certified mold inspectors and they charged me $345 for the test results from the lab and a full report with an analysis. They helped me understand the results because the lab is really confusing. I found that testing can range from $300 to $1200 depending on who you use - I called around. I was told though that there are a lot of people who do testing without certification, so be careful. If you need someone, www.aselainc.com - they are in California.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam


 

Comment On Your Experience With Mold Inspection
 
Subject:  *
Amount Spent:  *
Type of Test::   
Comments: 
Purchased:  Year: 
City:  * State:  *
 
Information about you:
Email:  * Email addresses are not displayed.
Name:  This is the name we'll display with your post.
me on this computer
*=required field.
 



External Resources:
  1.  www.cdc.gov/mold/iom_sum.htm
  2.  www.google.com/search?tbm=shop&q=mold+test+kit
  3.  www.cdc.gov/mold/
More Home and Garden Topics
Check Out All Costs for Home and Garden How Much Does a Deck Cost? How Much Does Replacing a Water Heater Cost? How Much Do Replacement Windows Cost?

Search Thousands of Topics on CostHelper.com




Today's Featured Cost Articles

About CostHelper
CostHelper is based in Silicon Valley and provides consumers with unbiased price information about thousands of goods and services. Our writers are experienced journalists who adhere to our strict editorial ethics policy.

CostHelper Community
Brake repair
Paid: 348.00
I first priced new brake pads and shoes at the register. Then told them to do the job... [more]
-rickdg
Tune-up Cost
Walgreens in North TX
Paid: 31.99
Much less painful and less costly than influenza!... [more]
-Tex Girl
Flu Shot Cost
tune up
Paid: 375.00
Is this normal? I paid $375... [more]
-kelly freeman
Tune-up Cost
Not ready for another baby yet!
Paid: 50.00
I am 24 yrs old and I already have a 6yr old little girl. Im not ready for another baby right now for sure!! I have unprotected sex with my fiancé last night and we just wanted to make sure... [more]
-Fiancé's Passion Needs Relaxin'!
Morning After Pill Cost
Pressure Washing
Paid: 85.00
This lady was so polite and detailed. She pressure washed my driveway, walkway and sidewalk all for $85.00. She also done my neighbor house... [more]
-Miss.Adams
Pressure Washing Cost
garbage disposal and install
Paid: 265.00
I feel I got ripped off. Guy was here 20 minutes took out the old one and replaced with a new one with no brand name that can see. He didn't even break down the charges on the bill. Just a flat 265.00.... [more]
-#sucker
Garbage Disposal Cost