Search thousands of topics on CostHelper.com

BROWSE ALL TOPICS >> babies & children  cars  consumer electronics health & personal care home & garden personal finance  pets  schools small business sports weddings
CostHelper > Home and Garden  > Home Maintenance & Moving > Termite Inspections

Termite Inspections Cost


How Much Do Termite Inspections Cost?

 
low costLow: Freeaverage costMedium: $65-$100
post Post   Comments (12)  

Termite inspections are performed during required real estate transactions and anytime a homeowner suspects a pest infiltration.

Typical costs:

  • When part of real estate closing costs, termite inspections run $65-$100 and include a Wood Destroying Insect Report[1] which contains two parts. Section 1 holds information on the immediate steps needed to protect the investment, according to Termite Advice.com. Section 2 lists potential problems that might occur.
  • Free inspections are offered by most commercial pest control companies. However, if required, a Wood Destroying Insect Report will cost around $100.
Related articles: Termite Control

What should be included:
  • Termite inspectors are certified separately from home inspectors, who check the heating and cooling units, roof, structural, electrical and water systems.
  • The American Association of Professional Inspectors[2] recommends termite inspections every two years.
Additional costs:
  • For a termite inspection report that is part of a home purchase, a connecting one-year warranty which runs $279-$359 may be required, according to one Terminix sales representative.
Discounts:
  • Free inspections are available for homes not involved in a current real estate transaction.
Shopping for termite inspections:
  • The National Pest Management Association has an online guide for locating a termite inspector.
  • TermiteAdvice.com recommends looking for a licensed, bonded and insured company and to ask for references.
  • The Department of Entomology at North Carolina State University lists signs of termite activity[3] on their website.
post Post   Comments (12)  
CostHelper News


Forgotten Expenses In a Home Addition Budget
Items like construction costs, permit fees or debris removal aren't the only expenses to consider when calculating the total costs of a home remodeling project. || Posted August 5 2013


7 Lesser-Known Discounts for the 50+ Crowd
As they age, members of the Baby Boomer generation don't like to admit that they're senior citizens, but they love getting discounts. It's kind of a quandary, because some of the best deals available are reduced prices for older folks. || Posted October 21 2013

‣ All CostHelper Blog Posts


What People Are Paying - Recent Comments
Termite inspection/WDOR as required by the VA
Amount: $125.00
Posted by: Felix Vaughan in Baltimore, MD.Posted: May 13th, 2019 02:05PM
Home sale or not: RefinanceFirm: Terminix
Called Terminix,,which I thought was an upstanding company,,guy came out did the inspection,,I told I'm a Vet and its required by the VA in order to complete the refinance of my home,,also it is required by the VA to use the VA approved form,,Terminix told me they don't use that required form{VA],,after I paid the amount requested,,Everything was done electronically,,Still no required VA form included,,Corporation was contacted by the Mortgage Representative for an explanation of why they do not use the required VA form for VETS,,I wouldn't recommend Terminix to anybody,,not even my worst enemy,,,TOTAL Sham,,& scam
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Wood Destroying Organisim Report
Amount: $150.00
Posted by: Willy D. in Salinas, CA.Posted: January 17th, 2018 01:01PM
Home sale or not: SaleFirm: Target Pest Control
Target Pest Control in Salinas, .CA saved me a ton of money. The seller provided a report from another pest company but I just didn't trust it. Andrew, our inspector from Target, came out and found thousands of dollars worth of damages that were NOT mentioned by other company.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Terminix RIP OFF
Amount: $0.00
Posted by: locotruckdriver in Alabaster, AL.Posted: December 4th, 2017 02:12PM
Home sale or not: YesFirm:
Terminix did a free inspection, said NO problems and said I needed NO treatments currently. Then I asked for the report and they said they wanted $500 for a report and required a treatment plan. TERMINIX=SCAM (he was laughed at all the way back to his car)
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Termite inspection for real estate sale
Amount: $595.00
Posted by: Jim Dreano in Norfolk, VA.Posted: December 7th, 2016 09:12AM
Home sale or not: YesFirm: Universal
I requested an inspection, for a letter for sale of a house. The inspector, requested by the purchaser checked, then informed me there was no damage, or active infestation. He then informed me the cost would be $495.00, but to obtain the letter, I must purchase the treatment. Can anyone tell me if this is required ?
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Wood destroying infestation report cl100
Amount: $75.00
Posted by: David Sac in Columbia, SC.Posted: September 3rd, 2016 05:09AM
Home sale or not: Home saleFirm: Columbia Certified Pest Control
I Columbia certified Pest Control and they were great the inspector inspected around my house, inside my house, and the crawlspace. They were very detailed compared to the other company that I've used when I bought a home before. Plus the price was great.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Termite inspection for sale of home
Amount: $375.00
Posted by: Renae Jane in Lodi, CA.Posted: October 12th, 2015 05:10PM
Home sale or not: Not yetFirm: Clark\'s Pest Control
Not quoted a price (apparently they hike it up for a home sale)...completely shocked by amount. Never thought to clarify as I was under the impression the inspection would be $75-100.00 They spent 1.5 hours and were unapologetic! Their inspection was no more detailed than one I had done at a different location one year earlier that did not involve the sale of a home. Apparently they see themselves as a 'cut above the rest' and the fact that they did not quote a price beforehand (claimed that they did....DID NOT) was justification for this exorbitant amount.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Bills Pest & Termite
Amount: $50.00
Posted by: MJ 1980 in Phoenix, AZ.Posted: May 3rd, 2010 12:05PM
Home sale or not: PurchaseFirm: Bills Pest and Termite
Seller provided a clear termite report from a deal that fell through. Being the suspicious sort I am I researched online and selected Bills Pest and Termite based upon reviews. The inspector from Bills was very professional arrived on time and explained termites. Not more than 15 minutes into his inspection he found termites and damage that was not reported. Hiring a good inspector saved me several thousand dollars and a headache
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
great company
Amount: $75.00
Posted by: kristen witte in charleston, SC.Posted: January 29th, 2010 06:01AM
Home sale or not: yesFirm: superior pest control
great company, they know how to treat a lady. im a realtor and i use superior for all my cl-100s and termite control.they have best package in charleston
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
cl-100
Amount: $75.00
Posted by: s mark surface in charleston, SC.Posted: January 27th, 2010 02:01PM
Home sale or not: yesFirm: superior pest control
i called a local company refered to me by a friend.i needed a cl-100 to sell my house.i called the friendly staff at superior pest control and set an appointment. they sent a young man, clean cut, neat,knowlegable, and on time.he conducting the inspection took about an hour and was only $75 and report was generated on spot along with pictires, keep up the good work
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Wood Destroying Insect Inspection
Amount: $95.00
Posted by: Evelyn Moore in Baldwin, NY.Posted: December 9th, 2009 01:12PM
Home sale or not: home saleFirm: Harrington's Pest Control, Inc.
My Agent recommended the guy, he came over and inspected the entire house. he found some visible evidence of wood destroying insects but the insects were not active. the report estimated treatment at $850 +tax. not sure if any of these inspections can be trusted. in any case the guy was friendly, thorough, and on time.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Help finding a reliable termite inspector
Amount: $0.00
Posted by: Lee in NC in Tarboro, NC.Posted: June 19th, 2009 10:06AM
Home sale or not: yesFirm:
Need inspection for FHA mortgage. What should I look for to make sure I'm getting reliable information from inspector?
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Wood Destroying Insect Inspection
Amount: $75.00
Posted by: Jamie in Pinckney, MI.Posted: September 11th, 2008 12:09AM
Home sale or not: YesFirm: local guy
Over the phone, I hired a local pest control guy to do the "Wood Destroying Insect" inspection required for FHA-insured mortgages. This was for a 3,200 square foot home in that was built six years ago and is primarily constructed of brick. No problems were found and I'm not sure how long he was there because my real estate agent just gave him the lock box code to let himself in.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam


 

Comment On Your Experience With Termite Inspections
 
Subject:  *
Amount Spent:  *
Home sale or not: Firm: 
Comments: 
Purchased:  Year: 
City:  * State:  *
 
Information about you:
Email:  * Email addresses are not displayed.
Name:  This is the name we'll display with your post.
me on this computer
*=required field.
 



External Resources:
  1.  ncagr.gov/SPCAP/structural/pubs/wdir.htm
  2.  www.dallashomeinspections.com/html/termites_evaluations.html
  3.  www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/ent/notes/Urban/termites/#signs
More Home and Garden Topics
Check Out All Costs for Home and Garden How Much Does Heating Oil Cost? How Much Does Painting a House Cost? How Much Does a Fence Cost?

Search Thousands of Topics on CostHelper.com

 
Today's Featured Cost Articles

About CostHelper
CostHelper is based in Silicon Valley and provides consumers with unbiased price information about thousands of goods and services. Our writers are experienced journalists who adhere to our strict editorial ethics policy.

CostHelper Community
2012 Rav4
Paid: 138.00
146,000 kilometers visiting family inToronto Brother purchased belt for me cost $33.00 (Bridgestone)+installation cost on a Sunday 10 am-1.2 hrs It was fixed guickly.The vehicle seems a lot cooler now... [more]
-Michael V.
Serpentine Belt Replacement Cost
Pedicure cost
Paid: 35.00
Great leg massage, hot towels, hot rocks and oil massage, with yummy scented orange scrub and products. Very relaxing, plus toenails trimmed, cuticles and polish... [more]
-AMP
Manicures and Pedicures Cost
New central air unit
Paid: 12400.00
Is this to much for a 18 seer ac unit plus furnace plus new ducts 4 ducts complete unit and installation... [more]
-Rudy C. Duran
Central Air Conditioner Cost
Frontier Communications
Paid: 60.77
Frontier Communications is the only landline available in the nursing home. The quote is $32.99 per month for just the landline. Nevertheless, there are hidden charges of $22.54 for recovery surcharges, state, and federal taxes... [more]
-Donnelly
Phone Line Cost
TV Mounting Service
Paid: 240.00
We just had them out to do our new OLED TV. We wanted a professional because we tried someone from craigslist a few years back that ended up costing us more in damages. Matt and his partner were amazing... [more]
-Jennifer stolz
TV Installation Cost
Over Charged for Eye Exam for my son
Paid: 435.00
Hello, Thank you for your time. I was wondering if you have any numbers for what would be a fair price for eye exam in Hennepin county, Minnesota... [more]
-Sayid Axmed
Eye Exam Cost