Search thousands of topics on CostHelper

BROWSE ALL TOPICS >> babies & children  cars  consumer electronics health & personal care home & garden personal finance  pets  schools small business sports weddings
CostHelper > Home and Garden  > Home Maintenance & Moving > Termite Inspections

Termite Inspections Cost


How Much Do Termite Inspections Cost?

 
low costLow: Freeaverage costMedium: $65-$100
post Post   Comments (13)  

Termite inspections are performed during required real estate transactions and anytime a homeowner suspects a pest infiltration.

Typical costs:

  • When part of real estate closing costs, termite inspections run $65-$100 and include a Wood Destroying Insect Report[1] which contains two parts. Section 1 holds information on the immediate steps needed to protect the investment, according to Termite Advice.com. Section 2 lists potential problems that might occur.
  • Free inspections are offered by most commercial pest control companies. However, if required, a Wood Destroying Insect Report will cost around $100.
Related articles: Termite Control

What should be included:
  • Termite inspectors are certified separately from home inspectors, who check the heating and cooling units, roof, structural, electrical and water systems.
  • The American Association of Professional Inspectors[2] recommends termite inspections every two years.
Additional costs:
  • For a termite inspection report that is part of a home purchase, a connecting one-year warranty which runs $279-$359 may be required, according to one Terminix sales representative.
Discounts:
  • Free inspections are available for homes not involved in a current real estate transaction.
Shopping for termite inspections:
  • The National Pest Management Association has an online guide for locating a termite inspector.
  • TermiteAdvice.com recommends looking for a licensed, bonded and insured company and to ask for references.
  • The Department of Entomology at North Carolina State University lists signs of termite activity[3] on their website.
post Post   Comments (13)  
CostHelper News


10 Quick and Inexpensive Home Makeover Projects To Do While At Home
You may not be able to host the large family gathering for the holidays, but there are still many ways to pick up items curbside to spruce up your indoor space for your everyday enjoyment and to bring a more festive spirit. || Posted December 30 2020


10 Key Ways to Prepare for Extreme Snow
Forecasters are predicting a true nor'easter will hit the eastern and central states with rain, thunderstorms, ice, snow and high winds over the Thanksgiving weekend. It's crucial to plan ahead, before bad weather hits. || Posted November 26 2013

‣ All CostHelper Blog Posts


What People Are Paying - Recent Comments
Wdi inspection for VA home sale
Amount: $125.00
Posted by: Jason S in Warren, MI.Posted: December 13th, 2019 11:12AM
Home sale or not: YesFirm: Wdi-inspector.com
Told them I Needed inspection right away.. They Showed up in 2 hours. Pretty fast service. Realtor told us last second before closing we needed this termite report. Called 4-5 companies and choose this guy cause he was cheapest.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Termite inspection/WDOR as required by the VA
Amount: $125.00
Posted by: Felix Vaughan in Baltimore, MD.Posted: May 13th, 2019 02:05PM
Home sale or not: RefinanceFirm: Terminix
Called Terminix,,which I thought was an upstanding company,,guy came out did the inspection,,I told I'm a Vet and its required by the VA in order to complete the refinance of my home,,also it is required by the VA to use the VA approved form,,Terminix told me they don't use that required form{VA],,after I paid the amount requested,,Everything was done electronically,,Still no required VA form included,,Corporation was contacted by the Mortgage Representative for an explanation of why they do not use the required VA form for VETS,,I wouldn't recommend Terminix to anybody,,not even my worst enemy,,,TOTAL Sham,,& scam
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Wood Destroying Organisim Report
Amount: $150.00
Posted by: Willy D. in Salinas, CA.Posted: January 17th, 2018 01:01PM
Home sale or not: SaleFirm: Target Pest Control
Target Pest Control in Salinas, .CA saved me a ton of money. The seller provided a report from another pest company but I just didn't trust it. Andrew, our inspector from Target, came out and found thousands of dollars worth of damages that were NOT mentioned by other company.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Terminix RIP OFF
Amount: $0.00
Posted by: locotruckdriver in Alabaster, AL.Posted: December 4th, 2017 02:12PM
Home sale or not: YesFirm:
Terminix did a free inspection, said NO problems and said I needed NO treatments currently. Then I asked for the report and they said they wanted $500 for a report and required a treatment plan. TERMINIX=SCAM (he was laughed at all the way back to his car)
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Termite inspection for real estate sale
Amount: $595.00
Posted by: Jim Dreano in Norfolk, VA.Posted: December 7th, 2016 09:12AM
Home sale or not: YesFirm: Universal
I requested an inspection, for a letter for sale of a house. The inspector, requested by the purchaser checked, then informed me there was no damage, or active infestation. He then informed me the cost would be $495.00, but to obtain the letter, I must purchase the treatment. Can anyone tell me if this is required ?
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Wood destroying infestation report cl100
Amount: $75.00
Posted by: David Sac in Columbia, SC.Posted: September 3rd, 2016 05:09AM
Home sale or not: Home saleFirm: Columbia Certified Pest Control
I Columbia certified Pest Control and they were great the inspector inspected around my house, inside my house, and the crawlspace. They were very detailed compared to the other company that I've used when I bought a home before. Plus the price was great.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Termite inspection for sale of home
Amount: $375.00
Posted by: Renae Jane in Lodi, CA.Posted: October 12th, 2015 05:10PM
Home sale or not: Not yetFirm: Clark\'s Pest Control
Not quoted a price (apparently they hike it up for a home sale)...completely shocked by amount. Never thought to clarify as I was under the impression the inspection would be $75-100.00 They spent 1.5 hours and were unapologetic! Their inspection was no more detailed than one I had done at a different location one year earlier that did not involve the sale of a home. Apparently they see themselves as a 'cut above the rest' and the fact that they did not quote a price beforehand (claimed that they did....DID NOT) was justification for this exorbitant amount.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Bills Pest & Termite
Amount: $50.00
Posted by: MJ 1980 in Phoenix, AZ.Posted: May 3rd, 2010 12:05PM
Home sale or not: PurchaseFirm: Bills Pest and Termite
Seller provided a clear termite report from a deal that fell through. Being the suspicious sort I am I researched online and selected Bills Pest and Termite based upon reviews. The inspector from Bills was very professional arrived on time and explained termites. Not more than 15 minutes into his inspection he found termites and damage that was not reported. Hiring a good inspector saved me several thousand dollars and a headache
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
great company
Amount: $75.00
Posted by: kristen witte in charleston, SC.Posted: January 29th, 2010 06:01AM
Home sale or not: yesFirm: superior pest control
great company, they know how to treat a lady. im a realtor and i use superior for all my cl-100s and termite control.they have best package in charleston
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
cl-100
Amount: $75.00
Posted by: s mark surface in charleston, SC.Posted: January 27th, 2010 02:01PM
Home sale or not: yesFirm: superior pest control
i called a local company refered to me by a friend.i needed a cl-100 to sell my house.i called the friendly staff at superior pest control and set an appointment. they sent a young man, clean cut, neat,knowlegable, and on time.he conducting the inspection took about an hour and was only $75 and report was generated on spot along with pictires, keep up the good work
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Wood Destroying Insect Inspection
Amount: $95.00
Posted by: Evelyn Moore in Baldwin, NY.Posted: December 9th, 2009 01:12PM
Home sale or not: home saleFirm: Harrington's Pest Control, Inc.
My Agent recommended the guy, he came over and inspected the entire house. he found some visible evidence of wood destroying insects but the insects were not active. the report estimated treatment at $850 +tax. not sure if any of these inspections can be trusted. in any case the guy was friendly, thorough, and on time.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Help finding a reliable termite inspector
Amount: $0.00
Posted by: Lee in NC in Tarboro, NC.Posted: June 19th, 2009 10:06AM
Home sale or not: yesFirm:
Need inspection for FHA mortgage. What should I look for to make sure I'm getting reliable information from inspector?
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam
Wood Destroying Insect Inspection
Amount: $75.00
Posted by: Jamie in Pinckney, MI.Posted: September 11th, 2008 12:09AM
Home sale or not: YesFirm: local guy
Over the phone, I hired a local pest control guy to do the "Wood Destroying Insect" inspection required for FHA-insured mortgages. This was for a 3,200 square foot home in that was built six years ago and is primarily constructed of brick. No problems were found and I'm not sure how long he was there because my real estate agent just gave him the lock box code to let himself in.
Was this post helpful to you?   yes     no Report prohibited or spam


 

Comment On Your Experience With Termite Inspections
 
Subject:  *
Amount Spent:  *
Home sale or not: Firm: 
Comments: 
Purchased:  Year: 
City:  * State:  *
 
Information about you:
Email:  * Email addresses are not displayed.
Name:  This is the name we'll display with your post.
me on this computer
*=required field.
 



External Resources:
  1.  ncagr.gov/SPCAP/structural/pubs/wdir.htm
  2.  www.dallashomeinspections.com/html/termites_evaluations.html
  3.  www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/ent/notes/Urban/termites/#signs
More Home and Garden Topics
Check Out All Costs for Home and Garden How Much Does Heating Oil Cost? How Much Does Painting a House Cost? How Much Does a Fence Cost?

Search Thousands of Topics on CostHelper.com

 
Today's Featured Cost Articles

About CostHelper
CostHelper is based in Silicon Valley and provides consumers with unbiased price information about thousands of goods and services. Our writers are experienced journalists who adhere to our strict editorial ethics policy.

CostHelper Community
Radiologist Fee
Paid: 350.00
Any radiologist reading your mammogram will be at least $350. They have 11-13 years of training after high school before they begin work. If they are not board certified, watch out. Most are and it beats getting cancer... [more]
-Lowes Fan
Mammogram Cost
DIY Ceiling
Paid: 50.00
We bought a house with a cheap paint job. The ceilings were sprayed the same color as the walls. During COVID I painted the ceilings and a bathroom. A 120 square foot room took me about 4 hours (2 coats)... [more]
-Lowes Fan
Painting an Interior Cost
DIY vs Installed Small Deck
Paid: 3000.00
We paid $1300 for materials and $1700 for labor on a 100 square foot composite deck plus a redwood gate. It took 30 hours, done last year. My husband built a 100 sf heart redwood deck for about $1000 in materials in 2019... [more]
-Lowe's Fan
Redwood Deck Cost
Colposcopy with biopsy
Paid: 756.00
This service was wayy to expensive in my opinion. For a 20-25 minute total visit I had to pay out of pocked 756 - 187 to OBGYN, 229 to pathologist, then 340$ for facility fee or the hospital. I don't even know what that charge was for... [more]
-D S
Colposcopy Cost
Bilateral Diagnostic Mammogram and Third Mammogram
Paid: 1389.66
My 2021 bill, still in shock! Weill Cornell, in-network provider, billed my insurance $908 for a bilateral diagnostic mammogram, and $712 for a third mammogram one breast... [more]
-GinaF
Mammogram Cost
shoulder mri
Paid: 8000.00
Seriously, 8K for an MRI before all the secret insurance kicks in. I was stuck with a 1200 bill and my insurance is pretty good. This is insane for a 20 minute procedure with no nurse assistance... [more]
-stevej45
MRI Cost